SLAC topics

Honors & awards RSS feed

News Feature

The prestigious awards provide at least $2.5 million over five years in support of their work in understanding photochemical reactions and improving accelerator beams.

SLAC staff scientists Amy Cordones-Hahn and Brendan O'Shea

Blandford’s major contributions range from energetic jets ripping forth from colossal black holes to cosmic “magnifying” glasses to gravitational waves.

Roger Blandford
News Feature

The SLAC/Stanford scientists are among 120 new members of an organization that advises the nation on science and technology issues.

NAS 2020
News Feature

His work aims to deepen our understanding of dark matter, dark energy and other secrets of the universe.

Photo of Panofsky fellow Daniel Gruen
News Feature

The SLAC scientists will each receive $2.5 million for their research on fusion energy and advanced radiofrequency technology.

News Feature

Both are professors at Stanford and SLAC, where Martinez is an investigator with the Stanford PULSE Institute.

Stanford and SLAC professors Todd Martinez, left, and William Weis
News Feature

The annual conference for scientists who conduct research at SLAC’s light sources engaged about 470 researchers in talks, workshops and discussions.

2018 Users Conference
News Feature

The early-career award honors a promising leader in X-ray free-electron laser research.

SLAC's Tais Gorkhover
News Feature

In more than 185 experimental runs at SLAC’s synchrotron, he has pushed the envelope of both techniques and science.

Photo: Graham George
News Feature

Using SLAC’s X-ray synchrotron SSRL, Cao improves fundamental knowledge about how a new lithium-ion battery material works, which will help enable safer, longer-lasting devices.

Chuntian Cao
News Feature

Former Stanford and UC-Berkeley physicist is honored for foundational research that peers into unconventional phenomena within exotic materials.

Photo: Ming Yi
News Feature

Their work will deepen our understanding of matter in extreme conditions and fundamental particle physics.

Panofsky Fellows 2018