SLAC People

RSS Feed RSS Feed

October 16, 2015
News Feature
The American Physical Society has recognized both researchers for their leading role in SLAC’s BABAR experiment, which confirmed theorists’ description of how nature treats matter and antimatter differently.
April 20, 2015
News Feature
The European Physical Society honors Bjorken’s theoretical work on the parton structure of the proton, which contributed to the development of a theory of the strong nuclear force.
April 7, 2015
News Feature
Stanford University and the Department of Energy’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory have established the first endowed professorship in honor of Arthur Bienenstock.
February 13, 2015
News Feature
Honored for early theoretical predictions that helped elucidate the nature of the strong force and the structure of the proton, he is still shaking things up today.
SLAC theoretical physicist James D. "BJ" Bjorken
January 27, 2015
News Feature
He’s known for exploring fundamental properties of novel materials on the nanoscale, and for developing new tools for the exploration.
Stanford and SLAC Professor Tony Heinz
January 21, 2015
News Feature
SLAC’s team of dark matter hunters recently gained a new member.
January 16, 2015
News Feature
His election recognizes a long history of accomplishment that began more than two decades ago at the SLAC Linear Collider.
SLAC staff physicist Peter Rowson (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
November 26, 2014
News Feature
Abel, associate physics professor at Stanford and at SLAC and acting director of KIPAC, was recognized for the advances he’s made using supercomputers to explore the first billion years of cosmic history.
Photo - tom abel
November 20, 2014
News Feature
Burton Richter, Nobel laureate and director emeritus of SLAC, has received the National Medal of Science – the nation's highest honor for achievement in the field of science.
November 11, 2014
News Feature
SLAC science and technology advisor Zhi-Xun Shen is among the recipients of the Moore Experimental Investigators in Quantum Materials grants, one of the top grants in quantum materials research. Another recipient, Columbia University Professor Tony Heinz, will join SLAC and Stanford in January 2015.